Reviews

Review: Royals by Rachel Hawkins

35997816Royals by Rachel Hawkins

Release: May 1, 2018

Publisher: Penguin Random House

Source: Advance Reader’s Copy (ARC)

Pages: 256

Amazon / Book Depository

Rating: ★★★★.5☆ (4.5/5)

Synopsis via Goodreads: Meet Daisy Winters. She’s an offbeat sixteen-year-old Floridian with mermaid-red hair; a part time job at a bootleg Walmart, and a perfect older sister who’s nearly engaged to the Crown Prince of Scotland. Daisy has no desire to live in the spotlight, but relentless tabloid attention forces her to join Ellie at the relative seclusion of the castle across the pond.

While the dashing young Miles has been appointed to teach Daisy the ropes of being regal, the prince’s roguish younger brother kicks up scandal wherever he goes, and tries his best to take Daisy along for the ride. The crown–and the intriguing Miles–might be trying to make Daisy into a lady . . . but Daisy may just rewrite the royal rulebook to suit herself.

Continue reading “Review: Royals by Rachel Hawkins”

Advertisements
Can't-Wait Wednesday · Memes · Other

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: The Impossibility of Us, by Katy Upperman

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a blog meme hosted by Tressa @ Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming anticipated releases!

This week I am excited for…

IMG_2073

Continue reading “Can’t-Wait Wednesday: The Impossibility of Us, by Katy Upperman”

Memes · Other · Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Eight Books I Disliked but Am Glad I Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a blog meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Every week there’s a new given topic and you post your top ten list that goes with the subject. This weeks topic is “Books I Disliked/Hated but Am Really Glad I Read” and I actually had a hard time with this one since if I dislike a book, i’m usually not glad that I read it afterwards. It’s mainly because it took a lot out of me to finish said book so then i’m like, “well dang, why did I even bother picking it up in the first place?” Therefore, I only could come up with eight books that i’m glad to have read for many reasons like: they could have introduced me to the author’s writing style, some interesting characters, or even brought me to read the sequel which I loved much more.

IMG_2073

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Eight Books I Disliked but Am Glad I Read”

Misc. · Other

Blog Tour Spotlight (+ Giveaway!): The Harper Effect, by Taryn Bashford

THE HARPER EFFECT

The Harper Effect USA HDThe Harper Effect, by Taryn Bashford

Release: May 15, 2018

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Sky Pony Press

Amazon / Book Depository

Synopsis via Goodreads: Sixteen-year-old Harper was once a rising star on the tennis court–until her coach dropped her for being “mentally weak.” Without tennis, who is she? Her confidence at an all-time low, she secretly turns to her childhood friend, next-door neighbor Jacob–who also happens to be her sister’s very recent ex-boyfriend. If her sister finds out, it will mean a family war.

But when Harper is taken on by a new coach who wants her to train with Colt, a cold, defensive, brooding young tennis phenom, she hits the court all the harder, if only to prove Colt wrong. But as the two learn to become a team, Harper gets glimpses of the vulnerable boy beneath the surface, the boy who was deeply scarred by his family’s dark and scandalous past. The boy she could easily find herself falling for.

As she walks a fine line between Colt’s secrets, her forbidden love, and a game that demands nothing but the best, Harper must decide between her past and her future and between two boys who send her head spinning. Is the cost of winning the game worth losing everything?

A sizzling tennis romance perfect for the summer months, The Harper Effect, will be a grand slam for fans of Kasie West, Miranda Kinneally and Simone Ekeles.


Check Out the Book Trailer!


About the Author

jyGLJVJ8_400x400Taryn lives the typical writer’s life alongside supportive husband, teen children, and characters from her latest book insisting they help make dinner. This can be disconcerting as Jacob is always sticking his fingers in the cheese sauce and Harper can’t cook.

Taryn’s been an English Literature Honors student, an advertising sales rep and a CEO of an internet company, but writing is her first love. The Harper Effect is her debut novel.

Website / Goodreads / Twitter

Enter the GIVEAWAY!

Continue reading “Blog Tour Spotlight (+ Giveaway!): The Harper Effect, by Taryn Bashford”

Memes · Other · Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books With My Fave Color (Yellow) On the Cover!

Top Ten Tuesday is a blog meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Every week there’s a new given topic and you post your top ten list that goes with the subject. This weeks topic is “Books With My Favorite Color On the Cover” and this one was definitely a fun one to complete! My favorite color of all time is yellow because it’s just so bright and lovely and always puts me in a happier mood!

Without further ado, here are the ten yellowy books I chose!

IMG_2073

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Books With My Fave Color (Yellow) On the Cover!”

Other · Tags

The Sunshine Blogger Award

Hi lovelies! Long time, no talk but i’m finally back from my little two week hiatus! I didn’t announce it or anything mainly because the break was unbeknownst to me since school totally threw me a curve-ball at the last minute. Long story short, I had many projects pop up (one being a major Civics finance project that had me shook) and I pretty much had to dedicate ALL of my time to them (sadly I had to say “see ya later” to blogging AND reading… yeah it sucked). But now i’m back and with only less than a month left of my senior year, yay!!!

I decided to return with a fun post since the extremely wonderful Adri nominated me in the Sunshine Blogger Award which was such a surprise and totally lovely of her to do so! You guys should definitely check out her blog since it is literally the cutest and I am obsessed with all of her posts!

IMG_2073

Continue reading “The Sunshine Blogger Award”

Memes · Other · Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d SLAY a Lion to Get Early!

Top Ten Tuesday is a blog meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Every week there’s a new given topic and you post your top ten list that goes with the subject. This weeks topic is “Books I’d Slay a Lion to Get Early” and I am fr DYING over the prompt title because it’s SO TRUE. I mean, one of our endless reader nicknames is being called booklions and that’s got to be for a reason… right??

giphy.gif

ANYWAYS. I feel like this is going to be a very random list of titles so bear — or shall I say lion with me!

Yuppp… doesn’t have the same effect at all lol 😂

IMG_2073

Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d SLAY a Lion to Get Early!”

Hauls · Memes · Other · Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves [3]

Happy Saturday, lovelies! Today i’m back with Stacking the Shelves; a blog meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews and Reading Reality. I will be showing all of the books that I have added to my shelves over this past week including ones I bought in a physical store or online, books borrowed from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course Ebooks!STSsmall

For more information about Stacking the Shelves, please visit the official launch page!

IMG_2073

Continue reading “Stacking the Shelves [3]”